top of page

Why we decided to go back to Paleo

It was August of 2013 when we made the decision to transition to a Paleo lifestyle and aside from two shitty tasting meals we had incredible success.


Personally, I dropped 8 pounds, slept like a baby, and felt boundless energy.

Patrick lost 23 pounds, quit smoking, explored new foods, and increased his energy level as well.


We kept this lifestyle going off and on for about 3 years before we fully transitioned out and fell back into a Standard American Diet filled with gluten filled subs & hoagies, weekly sugar filled donuts and a major influx of dairy - especially cheese into our diet.


For a long time the effects didn't present until most recently when we both noticed our efforts in the gym have been overshadowed by what we were consuming. I have had a few ear problems, feeling achy, and brain fog. Patrick is experiencing digestive issues, skin breakouts, and feeling sluggish.


As we were digging into avocado toast and a protein platter at a local diner this weekend, Patrick suggested that we consider going back to either a Paleo or Keto Lifestyle. I have two issues with Keto - lack of the ability to consume bananas and the high amount of dairy which I do believe is a root cause of our sinus issues.


So I dusted off my paleo / grain free cookbooks and got busy in the kitchen. So far I made an instapot batch of chili, shrimp po-boys for dinner this evening, and sausage & cheddar breakfast muffins.


This week will be about transition - crowding out the dairy and processed foods in favor for fresh fruits, veggies, nuts, healthy fats and proteins.


A few other triggers I've noticed personally - is my midday slump and need to consume more coffee than beyond my two cups in the morning as I journal and a strong need for sugar and carbs. The sugar / carb connection has been weighing on me a lot lately; mentally, physically and emotionally. The addiction to sugar for me has become something of concern from add way too much creamer in my coffee, seeking out cookies, chocolate, or even two donuts instead of one.


I'd be lying if I didn't say another reason for this transition is weight loss, because that is another reason to retrace the steps we took a few years ago, but mainly our focus on overall health. To clean up our diet and in turn remove the aches and pains, sinus issues, have glowing skin, and sleep like a baby once again.


Plus, I want to feel inspired in the kitchen again. I simply love to cook and find the entire process to be very relaxing.



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page