top of page

Get out of your own damn way

Truth be told, I censor the shit out of myself. I censor my thoughts, feelings, goals, and dreams on a daily basis. Not because I am worried about excelling beyond my peer group - that's a real thing... some people become worried that they can't level up if those around them can't as well. I am not one of those people instead I censor myself for the fear of this thing called social media and the views other's have toward me. Yep, there I said it. I allowed myself to get "STUCK" for fear of what a keyboard warrior that I've never met and might not ever meet might say about me in the comments of my social media in the middle of the night. DAMN, it feels good to let this out.


In all seriousness - it's really easy to get in your own way on the path to improved health and wellness. We are "marketed to", I mean distracted by fad diets or workout trends on a daily basis. We use these distraction techniques as a way to avoid taking action - we research, pin, read reviews, and google until our fingers bleed and still fail to take action three months later. Imagine how slamming your body would be if you would have gotten off your computer and got your ass moving three months ago? Or how organized your house would be, how many books you'd read or how you'd have the promotion or the dream job if you took messy action and went for it.


It's time to get out of YOUR OWN DAMN WAY!


This weekend while camping I cracked open the spine of Girl, Wash Your Face by Rachel Hollis and let me get really real for a second. I was 6 pages when in slammed the book shut and decided to blow through my data and stream social media.


Why...


...because something she said hit me deep in the heart. To paraphrase she writes how we are so unwilling to break commitments to everyone else, but we break commitments with ourselves as easily as we breathe.


I am content as all hell to cancel on myself yet, when it comes to answering an email, text, group chat, or showing up for everyone else I am 15-minutes early.


Want the secret sauce on how to overcome standing in your own way?


Lace up your sneakers and go for a walk, blow the dust off your workout dvd's and hit play, actually use your gym membership for a change, or make one of the hundred HEALTHY recipes you've pinned. Ask your boss for a meeting to discuss the future of your career, or send your resume to that dream job that is scaring the shit out of you.


That's all it takes... I'm not asking you to run a marathon, take first place at the Crossfit Games (which are coming up on August 3 - 5th!), or become the next Gordon Ramsey - instead... I am asking you to get out of your own damn way and take action for yourself.


Let me know in the comments below how you plan to take action this week and I'll be watching!







0 comments
bottom of page