top of page

RECIPE: KETO CHEDDAR BISCUITS

Updated: Jun 5, 2018



There are some weeks that I want meal prep to be completed as quickly as possible and there are other weeks that I could create, cook and photograph all day long. For some reason, Mother's Day Weekend was just that - A time for me to get into the kitchen and flex what little culinary muscles that I have.


Our Mother's Day Menu for dinner #2 included twice baked cauliflower mash, smoked pulled pork, and a chocolate silk pie for dessert. Of course, we were missing rolls as part of the meal. Rather than blow through our carbs and be gluten'd, I decided to make homemade dinner rolls.


As I was planning the recipe for dinner rolls I began to reflect on one of my favorite childhood memories. Having lunch at Red Lobster became our thing, we'd go to celebrate an accomplishment at school, birthdays, or just because we wanted to spend time together. She'd encourage me to order whatever I'd like and that would always be the same thing: Crab Legs. I'd spend what felt like a lifetime cracking crab legs and nibble on cheddar garlic biscuits.


My love for food comes from my grandmother who always encouraged me to try everything no matter where we were in the world. She not only taught me to have a love for food but for new cultures and traveling.


In honor of this incredible women and missing her so much, I decided to make a batch of Keto Cheddar Garlic Biscuits and from the crumbs, I've nibbled on... this recipe gives the restaurant version a run for its money.


Keto Cheddar Garlic Biscuits

Makes 6

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of shredded cheddar

  • 1 cup + 2 tablespoons of almond flour

  • 4 tablespoons of room temp butter (melted)

  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda

  • 1 teaspoon of sea salt

  • 4 eggs

  • 1 teaspoon of garlic powder

  • 1 tablespoon of parsley or chives


Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Grease muffin pan

Mix all dry ingredients until well blended, add melted butter and continue to mix until smooth. In a second bowl whisk together all 4 eggs and pour into mixture and continue to mix well. Pour batter into greased muffin pan about 1/2 the depth of the muffin pan. Bake for 12 minutes or until golden brown.


Modifications:

  • Add bacon

  • Remove garlic/parsley/chives from recipe and incorporate diced jalapenos for a spicy alternative

  • Use a mini muffin pan for a dozen mini rolls


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page